Smt. Atashi Ann , Chairperson, Basirhat Municipality

The Municipality is divided into 22 wards covering 22.5 km², with population of 113,120 as per 2001 census, out of which 30% are currently under the below poverty level (whereas, BPL average percentage in West Bengal as per 2001 census is 31.58%).


Basirhat Municipality was established on 1st April, 1869. It was constituted by Basirhat Mauza and 13 surrounding Mouzas. The entire area covered was 22.01 sq km. According to the Census 1981, the population was 81, 040.

Inauguration of ‘Aparajit’ Guest House

‘Aparajit’ Guest House was inaugurated by Mrs. Sabina Yasmin, Hon’ble Minister of State, Labour Department, Govt. of West Bengal on 23rd June, 2012.



Basirhat Municipality has planted nearly 200 saplings on 20th July 2011.


Inauguration of CBPHCS Office

Inauguration of Office of Community Based Primary Health Center Services near Tarun Toron, at Wrd No. 5 of Basirhat Municipality will be held on 22.02.2011 at 5:30 PM.


Tri-Cycle Distribution Programme

In connection to introduction of door-to-door waste collection system in all the Wards of Basirhat Municipality, a Tri-cycle distribution programme will be organized on 22.02.2011 at 3:00 PM near Basirhat Municipal Office.


Salary Account for Employees

Basirhat Municipality has recently opened Salary Account of all employees of Basirhat Municipality at State Bank of India, Basirhat Branch.


Primary School Health Check-up Programme

Basirhat Municipality is implementing School Health Check-up programme in the primary schools within Basirhat Municipality under KUSP Health component for 2010



Basirhat Municipality was under Left Front for the last term. This time, Trinamool Congress and Congress got the majority of votes. Congress won 10 wards and TMC 7 wards. While Left front got only 5 wards. Smt Krishna Mazumdar became the new Chairperson of Basirhat Municipality.